The 2017 Detroit Film Critics Society Awards

December 7, 2017

The Detroit Film Critics Society is pleased to announce the Best of 2017 winners in twelve categories. The Detroit Film Critics Society was founded in Spring 2007 and consists of a group of nineteen film critics with a Michigan connection who write or broadcast in the Detroit area as well as other major cities including Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Lansing, and Flint, Michigan; Toledo, Ohio; and New York City.

The Florida ProjectEach critic submitted their top five picks in the following categories: Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Ensemble, and Breakthrough in any category, Best Screenplay, and Best Documentary. Two additional categories were added this year for Best Animated Feature and Best Use of Music making a total of twelve (12) categories.

From these submissions, each entry was given a point value and the top five in each category were placed on the final ballot. In the event of a tie, more than five nominees were placed on the ballot. The final ballots were then given to each critic to rank in order. The results were once again tabulated and the winners were decided.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and The Shape of Water tied for the most nominations with six each. The Florida Project was the big winner this year with four nominations and three wins for Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Supporting Actor. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri had two wins for Best Actress and Best Screenplay. Other top nominees included Lady Bird and Get Out with five nominations each. Get Out had one win for Best Breakthrough for Jordan Peele, the writer and director. In a new category this year for Best Use of Music, Baby Driver was named the winner. See full results below.


The Best of 2017
as picked by the Detroit Film Critics Society
(nominees are listed in alphabetical order)


  • Winner: The Florida Project
  • The Disaster Artist
  • Get Out
  • The Shape of Water
  • Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri


  • Winner: Sean Baker, The Florida Project
  • Paul Thomas Anderson, Phantom Thread
  • Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
  • Christopher Nolan, Dunkirk
  • Jordan Peele, Get Out
  • Geuillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water


  • Winner: James Franco, The Disaster Artist
  • Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
  • Daniel Day-Lewis, Phantom Thread
  • Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour
  • Robert Pattinson, Good Time


  • Winner: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Jessica Chastain, Molly’s Game
  • Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
  • Margot Robbie, I, Tonya
  • Saroise Ronan, Lady Bird


  • Winner: Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
  • Richard Jenkins, The Shape of Water
  • Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Patrick Stewart, Logan
  • Michael Stuhlbarg, Call Me by Your Name


  • Winner: Allison Janney, I, Tonya
  • Tiffany Haddish, Girls Trip
  • Holly Hunter, The Big Sick
  • Melissa Leo, Novitiate
  • Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird


  • Winner: The Post
  • The Big Sick
  • Lady Bird
  • Mudbound
  • Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri


  • Winner: Jordan Peele, Writer/Director (Get Out)
  • Timothée Chalamet, Actor (Call Me by Your Name, Lady Bird, Hot Summer Nights)
  • Gal Gadot, Actress (Wonder Woman, Justice League)
  • Tiffany Haddish, Actress (Girls Trip)
  • Caleb Landry Jones, Actor (American Made;The Florida Project;Get Out; and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)


  • Winner: Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  • Guillermo del Toro, Vanessa Taylor, The Shape of Water
  • Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird
  • Emily V. Gordon, Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick
  • Liz Hannah, Josh Singer, The Post
  • Jordan Peele, Get Out
  • Taylor Sheridan, Wind River


  • Winner: Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond
  • The Defiant Ones
  • Human Flow
  • Kedi
  • Step
  • Strong Island
  • Whose Streets?


  • Winner: The LEGO Batman Movie
  • Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie
  • Cars 3
  • Coco
  • Loving Vincent


  • Winner: Baby Driver
  • Blade Runner 2049
  • Good Time
  • Phantom Thread
  • The Shape of Water