The 2013 Detroit Film Critics Society Awards

December 13, 2013

The Detroit Film Critics Society is pleased to announce the best of 2013 in ten categories. The society was founded in Spring 2007 and consists of a group of twenty Michigan film critics who write or broadcast in the Detroit area as well as other major cities within a 150-mile radius of the city including Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Lansing, and Flint, Michigan.

her-posterEach critic submitted their top five picks in the following categories: Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Ensemble, Breakthrough Performance, Best Screenplay, and Best Documentary. From these submissions, each entry was given a point value and the top five in each category have been placed on the final ballot. The final ballots were then given to each critic to rank in order. The results were once again tabulated and the winners were decided.

Taking three awards this year was Her (for Picture, Supporting Actress, and Screenplay). Both Short Term 12 (Actress and Breakthrough) and Dallas Buyers Club (Actor and Supporting Actor) garnered two awards each while Gravity (Director), American Hustle (Ensemble), and Stories We Tell (Documentary) all took one award a piece.

Leading with five nominations each this year were American Hustle and Short Term 12. Other top nominees with four nominations each were 12 Years a Slave, Her, and The Wolf of Wall Street. Receiving three nominations each were August: Osage County, Before Midnight, and Captain Phillips. Both Spike Jonze and David O. Russell were nominated twice this year for Best Director and Best Screenplay. Destin Cretton was also nominated twice in the Best Screenplay and Best Breakthrough categories. Brie Larson was nominated twice in the Best Actress and Best Breakthrough categories. Julie Delpy was nominated twice for Best Actress and Best Screenplay. Matthew McConaughey was also nominated twice for Best Actor and Best Supporting Actor.


The Best of 2013
as picked by the Detroit Film Critics Society
(nominees are listed in alphabetical order)


  • Winner: Her
  • Before Midnight
  • Gravity
  • Short Term 12
  • 12 Years a Slave


  • Winner: Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity
  • Paul Greengrass, Captain Phillips
  • Spike Jonze, Her
  • David O. Russell, American Hustle
  • Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street


  • Winner: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
  • Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
  • Tom Hanks, Captain Phillips
  • Robert Redford, All Is Lost


  • Winner: Brie Larson, Short Term 12
  • Amy Adams, American Hustle
  • Julie Delpy, Before Midnight
  • Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue is the Warmest Color
  • Meryl Streep, August: Osage County


  • Winner: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club
  • Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
  • James Franco, Spring Breakers
  • Matthew McConaughey, Mud
  • Stanley Tucci, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire


  • Winner: Scarlett Johansson, Her
  • Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
  • Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
  • Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
  • June Squibb, Nebraska


  • Winner: American Hustle
  • August: Osage County
  • Blue Jasmine
  • 12 Years a Slave
  • The Wolf of Wall Street


  • Winner: Brie Larson, Short Term 12 (actress)
  • Lake Bell, In a World (actress, screenplay, director)
  • Ryan Coogler, Fruitvale Station (screenplay, director)
  • Destin Cretton, Short Term 12 (screenplay, director)
  • Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station (actor)


  • Winner: Spike Jonze, Her
  • Destin Cretton, Short Term 12
  • Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, and Ethan Hawke, Before Midnight
  • Eric Singer and David O. Russell, American Hustle
  • Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street


  • Winner: Stories We Tell
  • The Act of Killing
  • Blackfish
  • The Square
  • The Unknown Known